Exploring thoughts site

. PART 2.

by Swami Shankaratilaka images

Durga Aspects

– There are endless aspects of Durga described in the Puranas and Agamas and the iconography is consequently very varied. She is usually pictured as having ten arms holding Sword, Conch, Discus, Rosary, Bell, Winecup, Shielf, Bow, Arrow, and Spear. She is most often shown riding a lion from which comes Her august name, Simhavahini, “She who stands astride the king of beasts”. She is gorgeously dressed in royal red cloth and has several ornaments decorating Her personage. Her hair is dressed up in a crown (karandamukuta) which then flows out in long luxuriant tresses that are darkly luminous and soothing to the eye. The various tools reflects the eminent supremacy that helps in controlling the universe and obey Her will.

– Durga is the Goddess of divine power against all evils.

Though the Goddess is one, She is represented and worshiped in three different aspects. On the first three nights of the festival, Durga is worshiped. On the following three, Lakshmi and then Saraswati Devi on the last three nights. The following tenth day is called Vijayadasami. Vijaya means “victory”, the victory over one’s own minds that can come only when these three: Durga, Lakshmi, and Saraswati are worshiped.

– First three days

The goddess is separated as a spiritual force called Durga also known as Kali in order to destroy all our impurities.

– Second three days

The Mother is adored as a giver of spiritual wealth, Lakshmi, who is considered to have the power of bestowing on her devotees inexhaustible wealth, as she is the goddess of wealth.

– Final three days

The final set of three days is spent in worshipping the goddess of wisdom, Saraswati. In order to have all-round success in life, believers seek the blessings of all three aspects of the divine femininity, hence the nine nights of worship.

– During Navratri, some devotees of Durga observe a fast and prayers are offered for the protection of health and prosperity. Devotees avoid meat, alcoholic drinks, grains, wheat and onion during this fast. Grains are usually avoided since it is believed that during the period of Navratri and seasonal change, grains attract and absorb lots of negative energies[5] from the surrounding and therefore there is a need to avoid eating anything which are produced from grains for the purification of Navratri to be successful. Navratri is also a period of introspection and purification, and is traditionally an auspicious and religious time for starting new ventures.

– During this vowed religious observance, a pot is installed (ghatasthapana) at a sanctified place at home. A lamp is kept lit in the pot for nine days. The pot symbolizes the universe. The uninterrupted lit lamp is the medium through which we worship the effulgent Adishakti, i.e. Sree Durgadevi. During Navratri, the principle of Sree Durgadevi is more active in the atmosphere.


1. Prayer invocation

Sarva maṅgala māṅgalyē śivē sarvārtha sādhikē.

Śaraṇyē tryambakē gaurī nārāyaṇī namōstutē.

Namō dēvyai mahādēvyai śivāyai satataṁ namaḥ.

Namaḥ prakr̥tyai bhadrāyai niyatāḥ praṇatāḥ sma tām.


Sarvasyārtiharē dēvi nārāyaṇi namōstu tē.

Annapūrṇē sadāpūrṇē śaṅkaraḥ prāṇavallabhē.

Jñāna vairāgya sid’dhyarthaṁ bhikṣāṁ dēhi ca pārvatī.

2. Mantra for sadhana

OM Aiṁ hrīṁ klīṁ cāmuṇḍāyai viccē namah

3. Prayer for Punya blessings

– Durgā gāyatrī mantra

Kātyāyan’yai ca vidmahē, kan’yakumāryai dhīmahi.

Tannō durgā pracōdayat.

– Durgashtakshar mantra

Hrīṁ duṁ durgāyai namaḥ.

– Navārṇa mantra

Aiṁ hrīṁ klīṁ cāmuṇḍāyai viccē.

– Mām̐ sarasvatī stuti

Jaya jaya dēvi carācarasārē kucayugaśōbhita muktāhārē.

Vīṇāpustakaran̄jitahastē bhagavati bhārati dēvi namastē.

– Mahālakṣmī stuti

Namastēstu mahāmāyē śrīpīṭhē surapūjitē.

Śaṅkhacakragadāhastē mahālakṣmi namōstutē.

Sarvajñē sarvavaradē sarvaduṣṭa bhayaṅkari.

Sarvaduḥkha harē dēvi mahālakṣmi namōstutē.

Sid’dhibud’dhipradē dēvi bhuktimukti pradāyini.

Mantramūrtē sadā dēvi mahālakṣmi namōstutē.

Mahālakṣmī ca vidmahē, viṣṇupatnī, dhīmahi.

Tannō lakṣhmīḥ pracōdayāt.

– Dēvī stuti

Yā dēvī sarvabhūtēṣu mātr̥rupēṇa sansthitaḥ.

Yā dēvī sarvabhūtēṣu śaktirupēṇa sansthitaḥ.

Yā dēvī sarvabhūtēṣu śāntirupēṇa sansthitaḥ.

Namastasyaiḥ namastasyaiḥ namastasyaiḥ namō namaḥ.

Ambāyai namaḥ.

Sarvē bhavantu sukhinaḥ sarvē santu nirāmayāḥ.

Sarvē bhadrāṇi paśyantu mā kaścid duḥkhabhāgbhavēt.

How does a Mantra Work

When you repeatedly utter a Mantra you are tuning to a particular frequency and this frequency establishes a contact with the cosmic energy and attracts it into your body. Thus we can balance the energies and also increase the level of a certain type of energy, which promote certain actions and events.

It is believed that all mantras came from the single original sacred sound: ‘Om’. Om is composed of three main sounds:

Aa-Uu-Ma. ‘Aa’ represents Lord Vishnu; the sustainer.

‘Uu’ represents Lord Shiva; the destroyer.

‘Ma’ represents Lord Brahma; the creator.

Aa-also represents the Sun, Uu-the Moon, and Ma-the Fire. There are many meanings attributed to the sound ‘Om’.

There are Mantras for everything. The ‘Gayatri Mantra’ recited by Hindus comprise 24 sounds; each sound is loaded with the energy of a different type by ancient sages. It is said that ‘there is no great Mantra than the Gayatri.

A mantra does its job effectively if it sinks into your subconscious mind. The greater the number of recitations the higher is the chance of it sinking into your subconscious. Also it is important that you recite a mantra with full faith and concentration.

Number of Recitations

A mantra does its job effectively if it sinks into your subconscious mind. The greater the number of recitations the higher is the chance of it sinking into your subconscious. Also it is important that you recite a mantra with full faith and concentration.

Celebration Navaratri – Durga Mantra: http://youtu.be/PytwbFpXdig


More Info: escuelavedica@yahoo.es



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: